Mini Apple Pies

13 Oct

 

 

I’ll be honest here, it’s been about ten years since I last ate apple pie.  It was Thanksgiving time, and my daughter’s grandmother on her father’s side, had a homemade apple pie at their house that someone had given them.  I ate one slice, and spent two days on their couch with a stomach virus.  Since then, just the thought of apple pie has made my tummy turn.

Despite my bad experience, I’ve decided it’s time to get over it and try again.  I think making these mini pies is the perfect way for me to ease my way back into things.  They’re so cute, how could I resist?!

Ingredients:

8 cups of apples cut into small bits

12 tablespoons of flour

1 1/2 cups of sugar

4 tsps of cinnamon

1/2 tsp of nutmeg

chilled pie crust from Whole Foods or Trader Joes

4 tablespoons of vegan butter divided into 24 equal parts

Directions:

Mix the apples with the flour, sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg in a large bowl.  Unroll the pie crusts, and cut out circles that will be big enough to fill the muffin tin and then some (about the size of a mason jar lid ring).

Line muffin tins with the pie crust circles, and pinch the edges to help them act as baskets for the apples.  Fill with apple mixture, then push the pie crusts down the rest of the way.

Put a dab of the divided butter on top of each pie.  Cover each pie with left over dough, and brush with melted butter.  Bake at 400 degrees for 18-22 mins.

I’m looking forward to making these this weekend and getting what will feel like my first taste of apple pie!

Thanks to little bit funky for this recipe :)

Leave a comment